Saathoff wins IMCA Modified Duel In The Desert Presented by Gilley’s at LVMS

Saturday, November 13, 2004

Johnny Saathoff of Beatrice, Nebr., won the 40-lap IMCA Modified A-Feature at Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s seventh annual Duel In The Desert Present By Gilley’s. Saathoff caught defending champion and race leader David Murray in traffic on lap 22 and went on to collect the $5,000 first prize purse. Murray finished second and Jon DeBenedetti was third. Scott Busby, who initially was scored in fourth place, was disqualified after his car failed to pass post-race inspection. Justen Yeager and Jason Noll completed the top five. Saathoff’s victory was no small feat as 140 IMCA Modifieds entered the season-ending event at LVMS half-mile dirt oval. The race attracted entries from Nevada, California, Colorado, Iowa, Arizona, Wyoming, Nebraska, New Mexico, Idaho, Montana, Kansas and Canada.

Christy Georges of El Paso, Texas, won the G-Feature, in a hotly-contested, three-car shootout which also included Dustin Jenks and Dave Byrd.

Jon Thompson of Nebraska won the F-Feature, E-Feature and D-Feature. He then finished fourth in the C-Feature (won by Ryan Cottrell) to transfer to the B-Feature, but was unable to continue as he did not join the field in time to take the initial green flag. Ramie Stone of Winton, Calif., won the B-Feature.

Frank Bridwell won the abbreviated Thunderstock feature after the race was halted on the fifth lap due to an on-track incident. Thunderstock heats were won by Richie McGowan and Dean Joss Jr.

40-lap IMCA Modified A-Feature results: 1. Johnny Saathoff, 2. David Murray Jr., 3. Jon DeBenedetti, 4. Justen Yeager, 5. Jason Noll, 6. Paul Stone, 7. Chris Alcorn, 8. Dan Fitzgerald, 9. Kellen Chadwick, 10. Travis Metz, 11. Troy Stone, 12. Malen Gonzalez, 13. Ramie Stone, 14. Brian Cass, 15. Randy Harrison, 16. John Pierce, 17. Scott Slatter, 18. Darrick Klima, 19. Richard Papenhausen, 20. Gary Clark, 21. Robert Miller, 22. Chris Tonoli, 23. Chad Dolan.